Middle Years Programme (Grade 6 - 10)


Grade 6,7 and 8

Cambridge Checkpoint is a unique service and an invaluable tool for students. It enables access to standardised tests that provide feedback on a student's strengths and weaknesses in key curriculum areas. Feedback of this kind is an invaluable source of information. Teachers and Parents will be able to make strategic decisions, drawing upon a pool of information and specialist reporting tools built into Checkpoint. Students at international schools will have a transferable indication of their academic progress.

Advantages of Checkpoint:
  • The Checkpoint curriculum was designed to cover core content necessary for study towards the IGCSE Program.
  • Checkpoint scores are also useful predictors of future IGCSE grades in the same subject. Research has shown, not surprisingly, that candidates with a given Checkpoint score can go on to achieve a range of IGCSE results, depending on how well they prepared.
  • They are an invaluable tool to inform students/teachers/parents about suitable exam entries for students, for example to provide evidence about which IGCSE tier to prepare for.
At FLAG, we shall be taking the Checkpoint examination in English, Mathematics and Science. This shall be done at the end of Grade 8. Thus in Grade 7 and Grade 8 we shall prepare the students for the Checkpoint examination based on the syllabus issued by the University of Cambridge International Examinations for the respective subjects as stated earlier.

Further, we shall be having an in-house examination for Hindi, French, Social Sciences and Humanities as well at the end of Grade 8.

IGCSE - Grade 9 and 10

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) has been designed for students in Grade 10. Students who obtain an IGCSE qualification from Cambridge are prepared for further academic success, including a smooth progression to the IB Diploma. The program equips students with the skills needed for immediate employment. IGCSE is recognized as evidence of ability by academic institutions and employers around the world. At present, the IGCSE program is being administered in over 100 countries worldwide. It is recognized and accepted in India as an equivalent to the Grade 10 exam viz SSC, CBSE and ICSE.

The IGCSE provides a broad study program by drawing subjects from five areas: Languages, Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics, Creative, Technical and Vocational. Within the curriculum, there is a balanced mix of practical experience and theoretical knowledge. With a choice of Core and Extended papers in most subjects, the IGCSE is suitable for students with different levels of ability. Grading is on an eight-point scale (A* - G). Extended candidates are eligible for grades A* to E whilst Core candidates are only eligible for grades C to G.

The important principle of this examination is that students are rewarded for positive achievement - what they know and can do rather than being penalized for an accumulation of errors.

The curriculum encourages:
  • the development of oral and practical skills
  • an investigative approach
  • the use of initiative to solve problems
  • the application of skills, knowledge and understanding
  • the ability to undertake individual projects and to work as part of a team
At FLAG we offer the following subjects as part of the IGCSE Program:
  • Group 1 (Languages) - English, Hindi, French
  • Group 2 (Humanities and Social Sciences) - English Literature, Economics and History
  • Group 3 (Sciences) - Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Environmental Management
  • Group 4 (Maths) - Mathematics
  • Group 5 (Creative, Technical and Vocational) - Business Studies, Information & Communication Technology, Accounting and Art and Design
All the above subjects shall be offered at extended curriculum levels. A student will be required to do 7 subjects from the above subject groups at FLAG.