Cambridge A Levels

The Cambridge A Level Program is a two year course taken by learners in Grade 11 and 12.

The A Level Program, is the 'gold standard' of Cambridge qualifications. It is accepted as an entry qualification by universities around the world. A Levels is a highly specialised program and a student will normally take four subjects, although occasionally exceptional students take five.

The subject content of each of the A Level syllabuses has been subdivided into two parts: the AS syllabus content which is covered in the first half of the course (Grade 11), and part two of the syllabus commonly referred to as 'A2'. This flexible approach enables students to choose from the following options:
  • Take all A Level components in the same examination session at the end of a course of study, usually at the end of the second year (Grade 12)
  • Follow a staged assessment to an A Level by taking the AS qualification in one examination session, and the A2 assessment in a subsequent session
The A Level Program develops learners' knowledge, understanding and skills in:
  • In-depth subject content
  • Independent thinking
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as familiar situations
  • Handling and evaluating different types of information source
  • Thinking logically and presenting ordered and coherent arguments
  • Making judgements, recommendations and decisions
  • Presenting reasoned explanations, understanding implications and communicating them logically and clearly
  • Working and communicating in English.
As part of the A Level Program, FLAG offers the following subjects across the three subject groups

Group 1 - Math and Sciences
Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Applied ICT, Math

Group 2 - Languages
English Language

Group 3 - Arts & Humanities
Business Studies, Economics, Accounting, Psychology, Art & Design

Students are required to select 4 subjects from the list given above. English language is the only compulsory course. The remaining 3 subjects can be chosen based on student's aptitude, interest and career aspirations.

Students will appear for their final board examinations (at the end of Grade 12) in March.
The March exam series of A Levels ensures that the timeline of this examination and of results matches those of Indian boards such as HSC / ISC etc.

In addition to the 4 subjects, the A Levels program will truly be one of its kind at FLAG as we aim to offer a range of clubs and extra-curricular activities to ensure all round development of our learners. Some of the clubs and activities that will be offered to A Levels students are as follows:
  • Pistol Shooting
  • Spanish Language Club
  • French Language Club
  • Dramatics Club
  • Community Service