Secondary School - International General Certificate of Secondary Education

IGCSE - Grade 9 and 10

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) has been designed for students in Grade 10. Students who obtain an IGCSE qualification from Cambridge are prepared for further academic success, including a smooth progression to the IB Diploma. The program equips students with the skills needed for immediate employment. IGCSE is recognized as evidence of ability by academic institutions and employers around the world. At present, the IGCSE program is being administered in over 100 countries worldwide. It is recognized and accepted in India as an equivalent to the Grade 10 exam viz SSC, CBSE and ICSE.

The IGCSE provides a broad study program by drawing subjects from five areas: Languages, Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics, Creative, Technical and Vocational. Within the curriculum, there is a balanced mix of practical experience and theoretical knowledge. With a choice of Core and Extended papers in most subjects, the IGCSE is suitable for students with different levels of ability. Grading is on an eight-point scale (A* - G). Extended candidates are eligible for grades A* to E whilst Core candidates are only eligible for grades C to G.

The important principle of this examination is that students are rewarded for positive achievement - what they know and can do rather than being penalized for an accumulation of errors.

The curriculum encourages:
  • the development of oral and practical skills
  • an investigative approach
  • the use of initiative to solve problems
  • the application of skills, knowledge and understanding
  • the ability to undertake individual projects and to work as part of a team
At FLAG, we shall be offering the following subjects as part of the IGCSE Program:
  • Group 1 (Languages) - English, Hindi, French
  • Group 2 (Humanities and Social Sciences) - English Literature, Economics
  • Group 3 (Sciences) - Physics, Chemistry and Biology
  • Group 4 (Maths) - Mathematics
  • Group 5 (Creative, Technical and Vocational) - Business Studies, Information & Communication Technology
All the above subjects shall be offered at extended curriculum levels. A student shall be required to do 7 subjects from the above subject groups at FLAG. The student shall be required to select two languages from Group 1, 1 subject each from Group 2 to 5 and an additional subject from Group 2/3.