High School - IB Diploma

Grade 11 and 12

The IB Diploma is taken over two years (Grade 11 and Grade 12). It is a rigorous program which involves studying six subjects (three at the Higher Level and three at the Standard Level), an epistemology course entitled Theory of Knowledge, Creativity/Action/ Service Activities (CAS), and a substantial research paper of about 4000 words (the Extended Essay).

Students are assessed mainly by examination at the end of two years (in May). Each of the six subjects is awarded from one to seven points and to gain the IB Diploma, a student requires a minimum total of 24 points with no failing condition or 28 points with only one failing condition, and the satisfactory completion of an Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge, and satisfactory completion of CAS (Creativity-Action-Service). There is a total of three additional points available for the Extended Essay and the Theory of Knowledge course together.

Higher Level (HL) subjects require intensive, in-depth study over two years. These generally reflect a student's areas of interest and academic strength. Standard Level (SL) subjects are less demanding, but are still on par with introductory level college courses. Standard Level courses require a minimum of 150 hours while Higher Level courses involve about 50% more work and are also more difficult than Standard Level subjects and require a minimum of 250 hours per subject.

Both levels of study lead to exams, which students must pass to receive the Diploma. In addition to the exams, students are evaluated on a portion of their regular course work (for example, lab books, homework assignments, projects, etc.) completed in each course.

The assessment of student performance takes a variety of forms. In nearly all subjects, some of the assessment is carried out within the school by teachers. Such assessments by teachers are checked through sampling of work from every school. However, external examinations still form the greatest component of overall assessment for each subject, because of the greater degree of objectivity and reliability provided by the standard examination environment and external marking.

Advantage of IB Diploma:
  • AIU (Association of Indian Universities) accept IB Diploma results for entry into Indian colleges and universities after the Diploma (i.e. after Grade 12).
  • Worldwide recognition of IB Diploma by universities around the world.
  • Good IB Diploma scores can get students to receive course credit or advanced standing at many colleges and universities abroad.
  • Critical analysis of course content, effective written and oral communication, techniques of intellectual debate, and research skills all receive a great deal of emphasis in the IB Diploma. In addition to the Six Diploma program, subjects that each candidate pursues, the Theory of Knowledge course and the Extended Essay requirement are specifically designed to develop these skills.

The IB Subject hexagon

IB Diploma Subject Hexagon
At FLAG, we shall be offering the following subjects as part of the IB Diploma Program:
  • Group 1 - English A1
  • Group 2 - Hindi B, French B and French AB Initio
  • Group 3 - Business & Management, Economics
  • Group 4 - Physics, Chemistry and Biology
  • Group 5 - Mathematics
  • Group 6 - Theatre Arts
All the above subjects (except French AB Initio and Maths Studies) shall be offered at two levels - Higher Level and Standard Level. French AB Initio and Maths Studies shall be offered at Standard Level only.

Students shall be required to take one subject from each of the first 5 groups and select an additional subject either from Group 6 or from Group 3/Group 4. Three of the subjects need to be taken at a Higher Level and three at a Standard Level. Therefore students need to keep in mind their future career aspirations while selecting the subjects and the levels. The School's Academic Directors shall assist the child and the parent in this regard.